Callander Jazz and Blues Festival

Summer is definitely behind us. I’m delaying the onset of my SAD by focusing on all the brilliant events and places I could be visiting (if I had the money, of course). This weekend I want to be in Scotland, tapping my feet to some blues and downing a few drams.

Can you think of a better venue for a jazz and blues festival than the beautiful, brooding Trossachs landscape? The setting is only part of the reason why the Callander Jazz and Blues Festival is Scotland’s largest rural music festival, and 2010 is its 50th anniversary.

A host of local, national and international musicians will give over 50 live performances, to create a long weekend of almost non-stop live music. Every style of jazz and blues will be trumpeted out by the genre’s most soulful entertainers. From the jumpin’ jive style of The Jazz Connection to the powerful harmonicas of The Dana Dixon Blues Band, if you’ve got even an ounce of rhythm in your soul Callander is the place to be this weekend!

Of course, I won’t be there. I’ll be in London. Probably working. But I’ll dim the lights, pour some sticky drinks on the floor, light some candles, and pretend.

Comments
One Response to “Callander Jazz and Blues Festival”
  1. George says:

    Hey, really great blog post… I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog because of the great style and energy. I actually work for the CheapOair travel blog. If you’re interested, we would love to have you on as a guest blogger. Please send me an e-mail: gchristodoulou(at)cheapoair(dot)com, and I can give you more information. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

