Parakeets in London

Parakeet in London

As summer is clearly drawing to a close, it’s nice to be reminded that while autumn in clearly nearly here, it will soon be spring. Here’s a picture to cheer you up and remind you that you don’t have to go far to find a taste of the exotic.

I took a trip to Kew Gardens last spring. Strolling down the daffodil avenue I heard a familiar sound that I first heard in South America – a parakeet. There it was, peering down at me through the blossom.

The presence of parakeets in London is old news, but I’d never seen one. If, like me, you’re still intrigued by this story, find out more here: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/6478911.stm

Leave a Reply

